Writer Wednesday Writing Exercise at GonzoInk #poetry

Once upon a time, I took a workshop from Harry Thurston who is described as Canada’s naturalist poet. He was impressive. I’m terrible at poetry; just ask any of my writer friends who  write it. I think I may have written half dozen of them in my time and all very badly.

The workshop was at White Point Beach Resort: a beautiful spot on the South Shore of NS with gorgeous sands and bunnies all around the property. Harry asked us to walk the beach for about ½ an hour and pick up something that ‘spoke’ to us. Then come back with the object, grab a coffee, and wait. That alone, was wonderful. We reassembled with coffees and artifact in hand to our tables and the writing magic began.

He told us that we could use a formula if we liked to help egg on the poet muse. I’m going to share with you what I remember of the formula as it’s pretty cool. Mind you, a stale formula on a writer’s blog page cannot recreate the magic of that workshop in any way, shape, or form. I encourage you to attend any of his workshops if you are able.

  •  First: Describe the object physically. Use as many senses as you like
  • Second: Imagine its history
  • Third: Imagine how it got to the place where you picked it up
  • Fourth: Imagine it’s future.

Poets will be very creative with this formula. As a fiction writer, I was pleased I was able to have a guideline. The results—which we read out loud—were astounding.

Try it out, and feel free to share here or at the very least, tell us what object you picked.

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in writerwednesday exercises

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
