Rebranding Vampires

Weird. I love vampy stuff and I figured I would love making the covers for my Vampire Addictions series, but….I just didn’t.

They have some steamy romance, so I thought a hot man chest on the cover would be apropos. Alas, that’s just not my style. I hated it.

There’s also some adventure, mystery, thriller, dark edges too. So I really took a hard look at what I wanted the cover to convey.

I’m still not sure I like it. But I have two of the three book covers complete. (I’m in the midst of writing book2, btw)

You can try out the tale for free, just Start with the first FREE bite of Vampire Addictions by grabbing the sample: The Recruiter from Amazon, Kobo, GP, iTunes, BN

So here’s the cover before and after:

 Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000032_00026]
 Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000032_00026]

What do y’all think? Would you be interested in reading one of the above stories. Which one? Cover 1 or 2?

Leave a comment and get entered to win one of five FREE copies of Book 2. Set to launch May 15. Stay tuned for the cover reveal.

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in launch news
15 comments on “Rebranding Vampires
  1. Tammy says:

    Hate to say it but I like #1 best

  2. and the winners are!
    Alana woods
    Gina raynard
    Jennie morrow
    Rick taubold
    Joy

    I’ll try contacting through Facebook, but if I don’t get hold of you, please comment with your preferred format and I’ll find a way to send it.

  3. Alana Woods says:

    Hi Thea, I’m really tired of seeing hot men chests on covers and they’ve never made me want to check out the book. Cover 2 is much classier and interesting.

  4. Gina raynard says:

    Number 2 definitely has a nice mysterious appeal.

  5. I prefer Cover 2 also. I haven’t read the book, but I thought I’d pass along the following in case it’s helpful. I recently heard a talk by Mark Coker about various ebook-related topics. He had this to say about cover design: The cover is a promise to potential readers, about what the book will deliver.

    • yeah, I’ve heard it tons too. Just guess I didn’t listen this time round. LOL. TY for replying. I appreciate the reminder…may another reader heed the great advice. Mark is pretty smart and you very kind

      Sent from Windows Mail

  6. jenniemorrow says:

    I also prefer #2 and I like the fact that the head covers part of the word… But after looking at it again I realize that people will think it is called Vampire Addict…so I don’t know. I am always amazed at your cover designs. You could probably make good money doing that for people. You are really good.

    • Hmm. I think you and Rick are correct. I like the way it interferes with the title, nut maybe it’s toooo much. I’ll adjust. TY for the vote of confidence Jennie. For someone with your visual artistry to comment makes me all warm and fuzzy.

      Sent from Windows Mail

  7. ricktaubold says:

    Hi, Thea. It’s been a while. I share your feeling on cover #1. It’s a good cover, but it’s not you. Cover 2 is much crisper and does give that mystery feel, but you will have to do something about her head blocking out part of the title. Other than that, the cover works pretty well, but you know how hard covers are. Sometimes I think writing the book is easier than designing covers and writing cover blurbs. All the best with your efforts.

    • Gracious Rick! How are you? What’s your newest? where can I get it?

      Sent from Windows Mail

      • ricktaubold says:

        Nothing new yet, just a re-release of my first novel “More Than Magick” with new publisher and a new cover, but “the Mosaic” should be coming very soon (2 months?) and I have a nonfiction, “Punctuation For Fiction Writers” that should be out in early May. Info will be up on my website within the next hour.

  8. Joy says:

    Cover 2, after reading the book, it has a mystery feel to it and having a man abs on the cover doesn’t quiet give it the mysterious feel and anticipation for what is next to come.

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
