KG Stutts guests at Gonzoink

MirrorcoverHello! My name is KG Stutts. I am an author of a sci-fi romance series with Distinguished Press. The first in the series, Mirror Image, is out Friday. I’ve also written several romance novels to be released later this year.

Mirror Image is about a brilliant woman, Madison Mackenzie Rhodes who goes by the name Maddie. Her entire world is turned upside down when she finds out she’s a clone, created by a secret government agency called the Intergalactic Security Commission. Clones are created to keep the peace and protect Earth from the knowledge that we aren’t alone in the universe. Maddie must work with her counterpart, using the name Mack, as they are both being targeted. But soon an enemy from within the ISC threatens not only Earth, but countless other worlds as well.

One of the things I pride myself on most in my books is my strong female main characters. Each one of them is beautiful and unique and I *hope* they will be inspirational to anyone, male or female, reading one of my romance or sci-fi romance books. Brief rundown:

From my Mirror sci-fi romance series:

Maddie is brilliant, sweet, and stronger than she appears. She’s quick on her feet and uses her mind instead of her fists.

Mack is just as brilliant as Maddie but with a rougher edge to her. The years with the ISC have hardened her and she’s a proven leader but remains true to herself.

From my work-in-progress Amethyst sci-fi romance series:

Wait until you meet Ember later this year. She’s something else. Strong, fierce and incredibly tough. She’s the leader of Amethyst, a group of genetically enhanced super-humans and is more comfortable with her blaster than being around her own sister.

My romance, Color of Dreams, went to the semi-finals in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. It will be published later this year with Lazy Day Publishing.

Julie is a sex crimes detective. Her personality is as fiery as her hair. She’s the type of woman who would show her gun in a strip club if someone was hitting on her (and does).

Probably my weakest girl is Maggie from my Change the Stars romance (out in June also with Lazy Day) but it’s not her fault. Her story is set in the 1930s and was raised with a silver spoon in her mouth. But she does grow throughout her novel. She starts as a timid girl who holds her tongue and develops into a capable woman protecting her family through WW II.

Also developing a story for Isabelle, a young woman who becomes a pirate. That should be fun.

My fmc are tenacious, sharp witted, and pioneers in their own world and ways. They are relate-able and charismatic. I subscribe to the Joss Whedon school of characters. It’s my hope that whoever reads their stories can connect to them.

I’m tired of reading books where the women are background characters or secondary to the guys. Some genres are sexist or geared toward a particular female archetype. I want to shatter the stereotype especially in my sci-fi books.

Just wait to you get to meet my girls. Mirror Image will be available on April 25th.

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Posted in guest blogging

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
