Writing Backwards to go Forwards

Or: it’s Water Witch Wednesday

by Thea Atkinson

I know some of you are looking forward to the release, and some of you are ambivalent, but I’m pretty stoked. I’m so close to the end, it’s ca-razy.

Elemental Magic is growing, and that means if I’m to plot out 4 novels, I really had to know where I was going. The backstory of the world I was creating, the motivations of certain characters, all had to make sense. I found myself having to write backstory for the series and those backstories took (and are taking) a life of their own. I imagine I’ll have two parallel series on the go at the same time: One a series of shorts, and one a series of midlength novels.

So for those who actually are looking forward to the release of book 2, I thought I’d whet your appetite as well as give you some meat to digest.

Exclusive to Amazon

I’m offering the first of the back stories (Seeds of the Soul) for free on Aug 2 and 3, 2012. I’m posting today, mostly because the book is live, but it’s not free, and it often takes a while for folks to check their mails, blogs, and such. I thought I’d give you plenty of notice.

Besides, it’s Water Witch Wednesday, and while I can’t offer you the freebie today (Amazon won’t let me), I can at least give you the news.

Blurb:

Sometimes to save a world, you must destroy it.

The witches of Etlantium are charged with keeping the children of Liliah safe, but when an oracle accuses the ruler of seeking to destroy his own city through civil war, there is only one witch brave enough to do what must be done.

Readers of Water Witch will find this background story jammed full of historical intrigue, enchantment, and old world mythology and legends with just a dose of reincarnation theory thrown in. Seeds of the Soul is the beginning of an epic fantasy series for all ages but is recommended for those readers over 16.

So have you ever found yourself back pedalling and having to write the story that happened before your story? Do tell!

-30-

If you liked this post, please do share.

Subscribe to my newsletter Thea Reads for goodies, freebies, and news, but never spam. Never.

banner for kb

Buy me from other retailers:

 

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in writerwednesday exercises
6 comments on “Writing Backwards to go Forwards
  1. […] Writing Backwards to go Forwards (theaatkinson.wordpress.com) Share me Some Pin ItDiggMoreLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Leave a Comment by Thea Atkinson on September 16, 2012  •  Permalink Posted in Thea bits Tagged cheap kindle book, ebook launch, LinkedIn, water witch series […]

  2. Viv says:

    I’d share but it appears several of your share buttons (like tweet and share to FB) are missing!

  3. Diane Tibert says:

    I have written back stories for several characters in my stories. It’s a great exercise, and creates interesting material that may be sold as add ons.

    I love the cover for “Seeds of the Soul”. The colours are warm and draw the eye in.

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
