What is an indie?

How to Be Indie

Image via Wikipedia

I had a ton of fun this weekend playing around with some movie making software you can get online. Xtranormal offers 300 bits up front to create a fun movie, so it cost me nothing. I’m no script writer and I really wasn’t sure what I wanted to write. At first, it was a whopping 2 and a half minutes long and contained a long dissertation about what Indie really is along with responses to all the naysaying blurbs like: so if you’re indie you can’t be good enough to get published? (That one really burns me)

I left in some of it, but felt it just turned into a lecture, not a fun video, so I cut it back. I still kind of like it though. Maybe I’ll do a series of these as a kind of therapy. Who knows? All I know is I had a bunch of fun playing with this, and it has become my new procrastinating tool.

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
11 comments on “What is an indie?
  1. fuonlyknew says:

    I just had my son and my sister watch this with me. They say “Do some more, we love it!” and so do I. I also like the topic.

  2. Loved it! Absolutely loved it!

  3. Hi Thea! As one of your wana1011 classmates I have wanted to drop by and meet you and finally made it today! Wow, did we have a large class. Congrats on your Indie authorship. That seems to be the trend and the direction that I plan to take. Best wishes and I hope to see you soon!🙂

  4. Jo-Ann Carson says:

    Thea
    That clip is sensational. I love your perspective on indie pub and the characters are so darn cute. Wow. I hope this goes viral.

  5. Very creative! GrrEAT!

  6. Diane Tibert says:

    Cool. You could use something like this to make a book trailer for YouTube.

  7. Absolutely LOVED this! Great job, Thea!

  8. fuonlyknew says:

    That was SUPER FUN. Great work!

  9. Interesting video! However, you may want to correct one mistake. Whether you are published or self-published does not matter when it comes to marketing and promotion. You still have to do all the work yourself. Of course, once your name is well established, things become a little less hectic!

    Like you, I feel that audiences do not really understand the “self-published” concept. I am an indie author, but I also work on the other side of the fence (as a journalist and reviewer). I think the problem is that many indies do not do their due diligence and market bad products.

    To me, both indies and audiences need to be educated.

    Thank you for taking the time to create the video. You did a great job!

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
