New book launch by Faith Mortimer:

It’s unusual for me to have 2 guests in one week. I apologize if my posts are clogging up your email; it doesn’t happen often, but I wanted to share a new book launch with you.

Can Thrilling Reads contain great characters?

I’m a lover of many genres—so long as the characters speak to me. I’ve been known to read YA, chicklit, and fantasy besides horror and scifi because I got engaged in what the characters were saying to me. The same goes for thrillers. I need to BELIEVE the characters. I need to SYMPATHIZE with the characters: and that goes for the villain too. I great thriller writer has to make all the players authentic for me. I loved the Millennium series by Stieg Larson for that reason: all the characters were very much fleshed out and plump. The villains were not pure evil. I often pitied them or I found something within that made me think the portrayal was realistic: that the villain could acutally be a person. If I see a cardboard character, I put the book down.

Today, Faith Mortimer announces her new thriller and it occurs to me that I really must go investigate her character portrayals.

I encourage you to do the same.

Buy from Amazon

Diana Rivers and “The Surgeon’s Blade”

Mystery-suspense-thriller writer, Faith Mortimer is delighted to add book three to her best-selling Diana Rivers mystery thriller series. This latest novel, “The Surgeon’s blade” is more chilling, tense and is described as a ‘real corker of a read’.

When nursing sister, Libby Hunter wakes up in hospital following a traumatic sailing accident she discovers two deeply disturbing things. One – she has lost her memory and two – the stranger, (Nigel) whom she finds sitting by her bedside when she awakes claims to be her fiancé.

During her hospital stay, Libby regains most of her memory, except the bizarre thing is she cannot remember ever being engaged to surgeon, Nigel. Against her will Nigel persuades Libby into agreeing to move in with him.  Working on instinct she finds excuses to put him off until she is completely sure of her true feelings.

During a series of attacks on nurses in London and Southampton, Libby finds herself in great danger when her home is broken into one night. Who is the intruder and does he plan on harming her? And is this connected in any way to the recent attacks on nursing staff. Will Libby be the attacker’s latest targeted victim?

Distressed Libby turns to pilot, Robert for help and understanding, but is he as respectable and kind as he appears to be? Is her fiancé, Nigel trustworthy, especially when his ex-wife, Stella enters the scene and Libby suspects them of rekindling their relationship?

The night time intrusion to Libby’s house sets in motion a downwards spiral of cataclysmic and terrifying events, culminating in our favourite sleuth, Diana Rivers stepping in to help solve the case in this chilling mystery thriller.

For a glimpse of early reviews please go to: Amazon Customer 5 Star Reviews

 

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in guest blogging

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
