What’s Tunes got to do …got to do with It?

J is waiting for you on Amazon

Every now and then I post a link to twitter that takes clickers to “Gravity” by A Perfect Circle on Youtube, and I always write something to the effect that it was the song I listened to most while I was writing the climax of Anomaly. For a while, I would tweet and Facebook a variety of songs, often labelling the tweets as Anomaly writing soundtack song # Youtube link.

I stopped doing it a while ago because I just figured I was the only one remotely interested, but recently, I’ve been I’ve been seeing tweets about Jodi Picoult’s novel Sing You Home, and from what I gather, it has a soundtrack in it (or listed in it).

I realized I wasn’t the only one that connected life events (and plot events) to music after all.

That kind of excited me in a weird way. It made me start to think again about the processes involved in any artform and how they are connected. As visual artists use terms like composition and cliché all the time, so do writers. Musicians use words like rhythm and voice. So do writers. Photographers talk about story; so do writers.

Perhaps some day I’ll write about how I think all of these things connect for me (I’m a major music fan and avid hobbyist music photographer) but for now, I’ll settle for listing a few songs from the Anomaly soundtrack that moved me in some way and in the end become the composite anthem for poor J, who was really the most touching character to grace my writer’s psyche. There’s a soft cuddly place in my heart for J, and I imagine if you got to know the complex character, there’d be an equally comfortable spot in yours.

-30-

Gravity by A Perfect Circle

Pet by A Perfect Circle

If you liked this post, please do share. If you add the hashtag #squirrelarmy, I’ll add you to my list of folks to look for and RT, share, and network with.

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Thea bits
6 comments on “What’s Tunes got to do …got to do with It?
  1. I love seeing music that inspired posts, because I love seeing what people listen to when they write and why. I have playlists for all my tales.

  2. Comforting to know I’m not the only one with manuscript soundtracks. Great idea to post them for the reader to listen to while they’re reading your book. Talk about mood music!

  3. I always listen to music while I write. “Unstoppable” by Rascal Flatts played in my head and on the CD player while I wrote the final battle scene for my fantasy novel. Their “Where You Are” song is another I used for a particular scene.

  4. Wow. The monk! that’s one interesting tidbit. Glad you shared. I don’t know anyone who writes to Thelonius Monk. grin.

  5. Deb says:

    When I was knee deep into my second and third manuscripts, Thelonious Monk was *it*. I mean, he always is, but he was the soundtrack to getting my words onto paper- I couldn’t have done it without him.

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
