horoscopes and characters: guest post by @patricialynne07

A great twitter friend is on a blog tour and I offered her my spot for today. I do hope you decide to follow her (she’s @patricialynne07). She gave Anomaly a really great review–said it was her first. I felt pretty chuffed that she liked my lil book enough to draft her first book review.

I asked her to write a post on horoscopes and characters as one of my readers (a great writer too) mentioned that she thought J (the main character in Anomaly) was a gemini because of the duality in his nature. I hadn’t thought about it before and thus this post.

Horoscopes and Characters

by

Patricia Lynne:

It’s always fun, when creating characters to go the extra mile. It makes them more realistic when they have favorite colors, movies, music. Or birthdays. Some authors just know when what day their character was born. The knowledge is just there along with how they look, height, weight and personality. Me, I hadn’t really thought about when Tommy or Danny were born. I only knew their births were far enough apart that the dates were different. So when Thea suggest horoscopes for her stop on the tour I had to think.

When were Tommy and Danny born?

I knew I couldn’t pick any date. I’m a firm believer that astrological signs sync up with how a person is. I’m a Scorpio and when reading a Scorpio profile, the mark is pretty dead on. It would be the same for Tommy and Danny. So I went looking and discovered Tommy is so a Taurus and Danny is an Aries.

I will admit, this was the selling point for deciding Tommy is a Taurus.

The throat and neck are the hot spots for any Taurus. Lightly rub the neck, kiss it gently, lick it lightly, even a soft nipple will make them melt like butter! Massage the back of the neck while you are relaxing, this relax them and set the mood for passion!

Yeah, I think you can see why too. And if not, hello! He’s a vampire! There’s more than just that too. These are just the key ones that stand out to me.

Taurus is the one who has immense perseverance, even when others have given up, the Taurus rages on. – Tommy’s need/instinct to survive

Taurus are not fond of change. They like the familiar and routine comfort of life. In fact, is change is imminent, they get very nervous and worried. They do not like anything new because anything new is unknown and Taurus fears the unknown.  – How many times did I have him wining about change?

Taurus are down to earth, they do not like gaudy, flashy or over the top things. – Remember his cellar? Bare.

He fits other characteristics, but not as to a T. The one characteristic I think he doesn’t fit is laziness. They can be very lazy when someone gives them orders or wants them to do something they do not want to do. They are not lazy when it comes to themselves. That isn’t true for Tommy. You want him to do something, order him with his name. But I don’t think every person fits their astrological sign to a T. There are traits for Scorpio that don’t fit to well with me.

As for Danny, I decided he shouldn’t be a Taurus so that is how he ended up an Aries. It’s not a bad fit though.

Aries is the first of the zodiac signs. Aries is the sign of the self, people born under this sign strongly project their personalities onto others and can be very self-oriented. Aries tend to venture out into the world and leave impressions on others that they are exciting, vibrant and talkative. Aries tend to live adventurous lives and like to be the center of attention, but rightly so since they are natural, confident leaders. Aries are enthusiastic about their goals and enjoy the thrill of the hunt, “wanting is always better than getting” is a good way to sum it up. Aries are very impulsive and usually do not think before they act – or speak. Too often Aries will say whatever pops into their head and usually end up regretting it later!

Although, Danny is present throughout the whole story, there’s not a lot of delving into his life. But reading that I can see a lot of Danny in it. I think the last sentence is the most accurate for Danny. Especially when he’s drunk. And between him and Tommy – when Tommy was human – Danny was the one that attracted people. He made the friends and left a lasting impression on others.

So there is Tommy and Danny’s birthday April 20th and 19th. Thanks Thea for being a stop on my blog tour. It means a lot given how much I enjoy your writing.

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in guest blogging
5 comments on “horoscopes and characters: guest post by @patricialynne07
  1. That’s really interesting stuff. I’ve been into Astrology nearly my entire life, but, honestly I’ve never even thought of applying it to characters in a story. I’ve looked up my dog’s horoscope sign, but that’s about the extent of it🙂

    Thanks, Thea!🙂

  2. Taurus Man | says:

    […] Personality Traits for Career Success – Careers and Worklife – timesunion.com – Albany NYTaurusHoroscopes and CharactersTaurus […]

  3. That’s cool Deb and I get what you mean. Plus, I think readers like learning extra stuff about characters they love. It’s a way to not have to give up the story yet when it’s over.

    Thanks again for having me Thea, I had a lot of fun with this post. =)

  4. Deb says:

    Yes! I don’t talk to it explicitly in my manuscript, but I have the astrological signs for most of my main characters. It’s not a shortcut to character development, but it does help to “pin” them up before I go in for the final cuts, if you know what I mean.

    Love this🙂

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
