Runaways and Fiction

by Thea Atkinson

I wanted to run away once.

Not because my childhood was so horrible I felt I needed to escape. Well, I did have 3 brothers who tormented the living snot out of me, but that’s not the reason.

No.

I wanted to run away because my best friend had decided to. I remember thinking how brave that decision was and I envied her, her courage. In fact, I remember envying a lot of things about her: she got awesome bendable leg Barbie dolls for Christmas while mine were plastic, hard edged ones that spread-eagled when I tried to sit them down. She had a minibike–my dad couldn’t afford to buy me a pedal bike. She had a big fisherman father’s shed to play in with coils of rope as high as you stood.

You don’t need to tell me now that I envied her for all the wrong reasons–especially in light of the fact that my home was such an amazing place for a child to grow up that I bring my daughter there every week just to connect with all of her cousins and aunts and uncles. We’re close, my family. But I digress.

I envied this friend also because even at our tender ages she was a great writer. She even won a radio contest with her essay. She had something, some spark that just made her writing electric.

Still, with all that stuff in her favour, she wanted to run away. The best I could do as her BFF (a term not used back in the day) was to help her.

We spent weeks (probably days, actually) sweeping off some old linoleum covered floor that was the only remnant of a shed on the back of her father’s property. We dug up fern roots that we’d learned were edible in science class if you peeled all the black stuff off. They tasted like popcorn or nuts when we tried them out, and we stored them in baggies to keep them clean when we stuffed them under the floorboards.

With everything ready, she declared the date: our mutual birthday. Mid summer. She should be able to have good weather till she got where she was going.

The last bit was a bit fuzzy. All she knew was she was going to sleep at the old floor overnight and take off in the morning and head out–somewhere.

I was afraid for her, but if anyone could do it, she could. I wasn’t sure why she wanted to leave–heck, it could be just the spirit of adventure–but I knew right then she would make it.

Come supper time of my birthday I hadn’t heard a word from her all day. I blew out my birthday cake candles and spared a thought for the slice I would have liked to offer her, but she was miles away by then. Gone.

I sat on my front step and stared at her house. I was poised to expect the phone to ring, for her mom to demand I tell her where she was, and I agonized over what I would say. I couldn’t tell the truth; I’d promised to keep the secret.

It was lonely sitting there. I remember that. That was the first time I realized I was never going to see her again. The first time I realized that I would never want to be away from my own family that way. Despite 3 boys that picked on me, they would also do worse to anyone else who dared do the same. My mom and dad gave me as many hugs and kisses as they could fit in a day.

I didn’t have things, but I had family.

And that was the most important thing.

I ached for her that she was leaving hers behind.

All this I mulled over as I stared across the road at her yellow house, the VHF aerial tower in her dad’s backyard, the paved driveway.

Then I saw her.

She was ambling down that drive and across the road, not looking up, not saying anything, just moving up to my spot on the step, sitting down next to me.

“What happened?” I asked, both terrified she’d gotten caught and thrilled to see her.

She shrugged. “Nothing.”

“Oh,” I said, not sure what else to say.

“The popcorn rotted.”

She said it by way of explanation, but there was something else trilling beneath the admission, something that had us both sitting silent.

We both sat there saying nothing after that, just stared out at her backyard where we’d had so much fun. Both of us thinking, no doubt, about all the things that as children we were beginning to realize: that family has a connection to us that runs deep into our cores.

And that there’s really no place like home .

-30-

If you liked this post, please do click one of the share buttons below and/or find the follow me button for twitter. Even better: sample one of my novels for your Kindle, Nook, Kobo, or phone app

Olivia has her own secrets that both make her run away and pull her back home. Find out what they are in Secret Language of Crows. Still not sure if you’ll like it? Baxter Claire wrote a review for it on her blog.

Secret Language of Crows by Thea Atkinson

Purchase on Amazon

Amazon.com

Amazon.UK

Amazon. De

Barnes and Noble

Plus: I have a short story on Smashwords or Feedbooks that is always free. If you’re unsure whether you’ll like my writing, I encourage you to sample “Crows” from the purchase site, or just pick up God in the Machine from:

Smashwords

Feedbooks

.

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Thea bits, Top Posts
10 comments on “Runaways and Fiction
  1. […] post Runaways and Fiction. Attached it to a book (Secret Language of Crows […]

  2. Really enjoyed the article and the conversation on twitter!

  3. Thea, that was such a great story. You have your own spark/flair for writing. Now I want to know what happened to her too? Will you be telling us soon?

    • Debra:

      thanks for visiting and for commenting. AND for the compliment. Alas, to my knowledge, she is not writing anymore which is a true shame. She has such a gift and such wit. I don’t doubt she’ll eventually pick it back up…hopefully soon

  4. So true. Families annoy us to no end, but bedrock is bedrock. I ran away once, when I was in 4th grade, I think. However, I ran into a problem in that I really am not an outdoor type of girl. So I ran away, then wanted to go back inside where it was non-buggy. But I didn’t want to un-run away. So I hid under the bed (with a book, of course) for a while. I expected to hear my sisters or my parents wondering where I was, growing more and more sad at my leaving. But no one noticed… and then it was time for supper. I’ve always been suspicious of my own ability to suffer for a noble cause since that day.

    • Kelly: that is an AWESOME little story. I can just see you peeking out from beneath the bed, eyes wide, straining to hear. It’s just so perfect an image.

      I can’t imagine any kid not giving it a thought for a second or two at one time or other.

      thanks so much for visiting AND for commenting. much appreciated

      t

  5. A lovely backdrop story, Thea.

    But what happened to this precocious young writer? Where is she now? Spill!

  6. Rick Taubold says:

    What a wonderful post and story! Thanks for sharing it.

    • thanks, Rick. you are always generous with your comments. How’s your writing going? I finally have some time to read and am devouring my TBR like mad. Did you know VA is up next? such a coincidence

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
