Can you use Star trek for inspiration? @shayfabbro tells us how

Shay Fabbaro author of The Chosen: Book One of the Portals of Destiny

brings GonzoInk:

Thrusters On Full, Captain!

As I sit here watching The Wrath of Khan for about the thousandth time, I am still overcome with that same feeling I had watching the original Star Trek with my dad as a kid. It hasn’t waned, nor has it changed at all over the years. I still love the idea of other life in the vast universe (after all, if it was just us, wouldn’t it be an awful waste of space? Thank You Jodi Foster), each evolving according to a different set of rules than those that govern Earth. Many things would be different: their body shapes and compositions, intelligence levels, core values, cultures, religions. Would they have recreational activities similar to what we do on Earth? What about their values and customs?

Imagining all of the possibilities has given me endless hours of enjoyment, ever since I was a kid. Star Trek (and of course others since then) fed my imagination. And when Next Generation came out, I was hooked! Imagine it: humanity no longer at war with one another, no poverty, no need to work to for monetary gain. I often wonder what people would do if given all of the necessities of life and the ability to do whatever their heart’s desired.

I would like to think that if given that opportunity, humanity might do some very worthwhile things. And Star Trek gave us a hint of that. Exploring the galaxy, meeting and studying alien life forms, and getting into all sorts of mischief. Now, they do encounter danger, and often times have to resort to violence to get themselves out of it, but it’s nice that they aren’t just running amok in the universe using their technology to take over other worlds and subverting the populations.

The technology of Star Trek has always been awesome. I mean, who wouldn’t want a holodeck for crying out loud????? A room that  become anything you wish, from a pristine mountain lake complete with cabin, to a island paradise on some far-away planet. And replicators??? Hell YEAH! Just speak into the computer and it will make anything you want. You want shrimp and steak dinner? You got it! Or is Klingon blood sausage more your style? It can do that too!

I often wished that we really could travel into space and explore all of the worlds out there. Just punch a few buttons and whisk off at faster than light speeds to arrive a few hours later in some distant quadrant of the galaxy, orbiting a strange and unique world.

Can you imagine the excitement of the first person that proves life exists in space? And what that will mean for us here on Earth? I, for one, will be thrilled even if its nothing more than a bacteria. Because it will mean that we aren’t alone out here on this beautiful watery jewel. And if there is a bacteria, then couldn’t there also be plants of some kind somewhere? And perhaps some kind of creature the likes of which we can’t imagine?

I realize that this kind of news will not be greeted with excitement from everyone. Many will be scared of what this might mean, and some may even have their faith shaken to the very core. I mean, I can’t think of a single religious doctrine that mentions life on other planets. For some, the existence of life elsewhere may cause them to abandon everything they believed in. And that can make them very dangerous people.

But even with this danger, science must move forward. It is in our nature to explore the unknown. How I wish my math skills and stomach had been much better! I can’t imagine how amazing it would be to fly the space shuttle (hell, to just ride on it!!!), to watch as the blue of our atmosphere slowly gives way to the inky blackness of space, to watch as Earth falls further away from the ship, to come upon the moon and other planets, and see Earth from far away.

Perhaps this is why I like to write in the scifi/genre so much. I get to travel to these places in my mind, to create worlds so unlike Earth, and yet harboring life forms that have some very human characteristics😉 Since I can’t travel in space to see other worlds, I will simply make them up and populate them with anything I wish, and hope to give readers that same taste I felt when I first saw movies about other worlds🙂

Shay Fabbro was born in Longmont, CO and moved to the town of Grand Junction, CO in the early 1980′s. She earned her Bachelor’s degree in Biology from Mesa State College before earning her doctorate degree in Human Medical Genetics from the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus in Aurora, CO. Dr. Fabbro currently lives in Grand Junction with her husband, Rich, and their two cats. When not writing novels, she teaches biology classes at Mesa State College.

You can also pick up her second novel: Dangerous Reflections: Adventures of Alexis Davenport, Book One at Amazon.com

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in guest blogging
6 comments on “Can you use Star trek for inspiration? @shayfabbro tells us how
  1. Must confess to never having been a Star Tek fan. Or Star Wars, come to that.

    Which is odd, because I thrived on sci-fi classics like The Day The Earth Stood Still (the original), War of the Worlds (original again) and When Worlds Collide, and even the Lost In Space TV series!

    So why does Star Trek only manage to mildly interest me? And why do I absolutely hate Star Wars? Have never, ever managed to sit through a Star Wars film.

    • shayfabbro says:

      I don’t like the “new” Star Wars films but I pretty much have the original 3 memorized!!! I even went to see them when they re-released them back in the 1990s. I remember standing in line at the theater for 4 hours and there was a bunch of guys at the front of the line that ordered like 10 pizzas and passed them back to everyone. It was way cool! Just this feeling of sharing this passion with people that “get” you😉

  2. theaatkinson says:

    Ah, so you really ARE hardcore to have your name in Klilngon. Live long and Prosper!

  3. shayfabbro says:

    HA! I think my nerd is showing!!!

    Thanks to Thea for letting me share my love of Star Trek. Did I mention I have 3 Star Trek tattoos???😉

    • theaatkinson says:

      inner nerd=outer nerd? grin

      Loved having you here, Shay. tell us, what are these tats and where are they? enquiring minds…

      • shayfabbro says:

        I have the communicator symbol on my left ankle, the old Enterprise on my lower back (just a caricature), and the United Federation of Planets symbol with my name in the Klingon alphabet on upper back 😀

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
