#blogstreak roundup: what did it do, anyway? #amblogging

 What is this thing anyway?

I created the concept because I wanted to start something unique that I could do to promote myself and help market fellow writing bloggers. It’s like a blog tour except with flash fiction. Basically, I searched for folks to host a piece of my flash fiction for one day (genre specific to the host’s own writing). I asked each host to post a link to the next blog for the next day so that traffic could move forward as well as a link from the previous one.

One fresh piece of flash for every day of the month spread out over 30 blogs. I provided everything I possibly could to the hosts.: the links, the flash, and a brief intro. I promoted each host as much I possibly could from my little world.

What I learned from the blogstreak

I think the streak went well; only 6 people forgot to post me on their blogs and one had to step out at last minute. That makes a total of 23 posts on 23 different blogs. Not bad. Besides tweeting the actual blog link and sharing the links on facebook, I tried to visit the Goodreads blogs of the hosts as well and like and comment on them and tweet that link too to help push the exposure all over the place. Not sure how it worked for them, but it sure kept me busy.

The results

Interest

Well, you can’t measure interest, but I’ve added it as a result because although it’s not as quantifiable, it’s why I started the blog in the first place. I had a lot of people asking me on twitter and facebook what the blog streak was. These folks were not necessarily writers; in some cases, they were just regular folks I knew. So that it generated some kind of interest made it worth it for me.

 

Blog awareness:

11 new subscriptions to my blog. Not a lot to you, maybe, but I rarely get subscriptions.

I went from an average of 29 daily hits to 45 daily hits and while I had a total of 1092 hits in March, it increased to 1257 in April:

Maybe not earth shattering (as Marvin the Martian from BugsBunny says, “Where is the Earth shattering kaboom?”) but I’m treating this as a marathon, not a sprint, and I’m still getting hits at about 45 per day now in May.

I didn’t necessarily expect a lot of hits to my blog as I was mostly promoting the host blogs. My rationale: build a platform of interest/knowledge based on readers I DIDN’T know. So my hope was that readers of host blogs would learn that little ole thea existed, and any readers I might have already had would then discover other writers and genres. Symbiotic kind of thing.

Which brings me to the thing you all want to know:

The biggie: Sales

Ok. This is the thing. I have no idea if it generated any sales because there are so many factors involved (I had a guest spot on another blog and a couple of reviews of my work came out in April), but I do know that I typically only sell my Anne Boleyn book, and that one does fairly well with zero promotion. In truth, it’s the least well written of all my novels, but I suppose it’s a topic readers are still interested in and so it takes no work from me to sell a few copies a day.

But: I sold some books that I don’t ever promote. I sold about 9 copies of Secret Language of Crows and that book is one most people don’t even know exists. I also know by my ranking changes on BN that I’ve sold books there: again, the nontypical books like One Insular Tahiti and Secret Language of Crows. I chalk this up to the streak because I don’t EVER promote the Nook copies.

The key here, is that now I seem to be selling more in the US than I did. I’m getting some consistent sales across all my books rather than just the historical. It may be from a variety of things, but networking and promo is about spreading the exposure, so it’s always hard to tell exactly what has made a difference.

You have to remember, I’m a total unknown. I’m not Amanda Hocking, or Jack Kilborn, or even Mel Comley. My goal was to increase exposure for myself as well as to help other authors gain some readers. I wanted a way to network that would be beneficial to the people I was networking with.

What the hosts have said:

So was it worth it for the hosts? You be the judge

Ed Robertson said, “Just wanted you to know the streak went really well–in fact, it was my highest-traffic day ever. You pushed a lot of views my way and I had a recent blog post pulling in a bunch of readers.”

Glenn Bullion said, “I think the most hits I’ve had in a single day.”

Leah Peterson tweeted, “I had fun!”

Jarret Rush said, “Was great for me. I’d do it again.”

What do you want to know?

Is there something I haven’t covered? It was a pretty big project so I’m sure I didn’t answer all your questions, but you are welcome to write one in the comment box and I’ll answer them that way. Or better yet, check on my blogstreak challenge. Take up the gauntlet and … Streak on!

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Posted in blog streak
14 comments on “#blogstreak roundup: what did it do, anyway? #amblogging
  1. […] year I spent the entire month flashing around the blogospere in something I lovingly called: the blogstreak. I wrote 30 flash fiction pieces for 30 blogs and let them pick the genre. It stretched my writing […]

  2. […] write nonfic articles for magazines, and I write essays, and short stories, and sometimes (as in my blogstreak last April) I write flash […]

  3. Doug Fiedor says:

    Sounds great to me. I’ll have to try that.

    As a new blogger. I’m just looking around tonight. Perhaps I’ll get active as I learn more about the blogging system. Right now I’m interested in writer’s blogs mostly.

  4. Very cool experiment, Thea my friend. I’m pleased to hear it’s worked so nicely for you — that was a HELL of a lot of work you put into it!

  5. Larry Enright says:

    Thea,

    I followed your blogstreak start to finish and enjoyed every minute of it. It took a great deal of effort and creative energy on your part and I found myself looking forward to the little tidbits each day. This was a super idea and I love your writing. I only wish I had your energy. I could never do such a thing. I bought a copy of One Insular Tahiti, by the way, and am looking forward to reading it and Formed of Clay.

    Thanks, and all the best,

    Larry

    • theaatkinson says:

      Larry: I feel so grateful to have met you and I really enjoy each tidbit you put out each day as well. Thanks for buying. I hope you like it. that one always makes me nervous because it’s nonlinear and not everyone likes nonlinear. How’s Tom Ryan faring these days?

  6. mesmered says:

    I can’t wait to read about it some more. Having begun my current hist.fict as a fan-fict on my blog and then participated in a type of flash-fiction Jane Austen style on Twitter, it resonates.

    • theaatkinson says:

      I’m glad! Maybe you’d be interested in doing your own blogstreak. If you click the categories, you’ll see I’ve put everything under one heading: blogstreak. And: you’ll notice I offered a challenge. I’m willing to offer a host spot to 7 authors. No one’s taken me up on it yet. You could be the first!

  7. Wow! Thea, if you haven’t already prepared something for the guest blog here at MWi maybe this would be a good subject to expand on.

    If you’ve already got something else in mind, then have TWO guest spots!

    Innovative ways of promotion are few and far between, and this sounds like good fun too!

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
