Blogstreak Challenge from GonzoInk

If you’ve been following my blog for the last 30 days, you will have noticed that I’ve been on something called a blog streak. What is a blog streak, you ask. Simple.

I came up with the idea as I was trying to think of a way to promote some authors that I know as well as help build myself a platform. I thought about the blog tours that many writers go on trying to advertise their books and their writing and I thought about my penchant for flash fiction writing. I thought maybe I could combine the two. Flash fiction (streaking)+ blog tour =blogstreak

The idea was relatively simple: write a piece of flash fiction for 30 blogs over 30 days. Each flash would be tailored to the host blog’s particular genre of writing. I would link them together by asking hosts to post a link from the blog before them and the blog after. I also developed a new hashtag to tie them on twitter: #blogstreak.

Then I would try to drive traffic to those hosts. It wasn’t about getting people to buy my books. It wasn’t about getting people to come to my blog (although both of those would’ve been nice.) It was about trying to get my name out there as often as possible to as many different people as I could. You know: exposure (no pun intended)

You can imagine I had a lot of fun. I’m typically a literary fiction writer but over the 30 days I was asked to write in every genre from chick lit to science fiction to fantasy to crime and many others. It really stretched me as a writer and allowed me to step into some different shoes.

I’ll talk about the lessons I learned during this blog streak another time very soon, but what I want to do for now, is challenge seven writers to their own blog streaks.

Streak for seven days over seven host blogs in genres other than your own. I will offer you a space for one of your seven days. I will even be your first host. I might even promote you each day for your seven days.

Come on. What do you have to lose?

Sign up in the comments section below. Seven writers over seven days writing seven different flash fiction pieces for seven different blogs.

Sounds like a magical number to me.

So who’s in? Just sign up. The details can come later.

Comment below.

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Posted in blog streak

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
