Sweet success

They say there’s someone out there for everyone.  I think it’s the same with writing and reading.  It doesn’t matter what you write, someone will want to read it — it will be exactly what they want to read.  It’s the same as what you like to read: surely someone out there will write what you want.

And so, when I first started publishing on kindle lo these three months ago, I hoped to sell at least one copy.  I figured there should be at least one person out there who would like what I wrote.

Then I sold a copy.  I sold 4.  I started to get greedy.  What if I could sell 10?  10 sales happened.  I moved my bar.

I started to measure my goals by trying to double my sales each month.  Imagine my surprise when it happened.  12 turned into 24.  You can imagine my excitement.  As it drew close to Christmas, I started to believe I might be able to make it to 50 total sales by the end of the year.  I know, I know, not a huge amount of copies.  I’m no Stephen King.  I know Alice Munro.  I know that.  But it sure would be exciting if I could make it to 50 whole copies of my books out there in the reading public.

Well I’ve done it.  Rather, you’ve done it for me.  I have surpassed total sales of 50 before the year’s end.  I’m so thrilled with myself that I feel the greed creeping in again.

Despite what I measured as success one week ago, it’s like candy: I want more.

And more.

I think I need some sort of sales rehab.

Thea Atkinson is a writer of character driven fiction.

Posted in Uncategorized

I'd love to have your feedback

Mouse over to see who this Thea chick is

All Thea's novels are available on Kindle, Nook, Sony, and Kobo

Categories
